NunaX up in flames on last race day Vattenfall Solar Team

NunaX - the newest solar car of the Vattenfall Solar Team - was forced to retire from the Bridgestone World Solar Challenge. The frontrunner was driving the final leg of the 3021-kilometer race through the outback of Australia when the car unexpectedly caught fire. It is the first time in the twenty-year history of the team that the reigning world champion did not reach the finish line. 

Photo by: Jorrit Lousberg

The Vattenfall Solar Team participated for the tenth time in the biennial race and was heading for their eighth victory. The driver was able to park the car at the side of the road and was brought to safety. 

"I am standing next to a burning pile of carbon," says driver Tim van Leeuwen, one of the four drivers of the solar car. "There is a strong feeling of disbelief in our team. We were driving the last stage towards Adelaide, with less than 250 kilometers until the finish left. 

"It seemed we had the wind in our back: we were in the lead, driving 100 kilometers per hour, when I smelled something burning. I asked our chase vehicle if it could be the car, but all measured values appeared normal. It wasn't long before smoke filled up the cockpit, I immediately knew something was wrong."

Cause still unknown

The precise cause of the fire is still being investigated.


Aftermovie Bridgestone World Solar Challenge 2019

The legacy continues

13 oktober 2019 start de race #itspossible

NunaX up in flames on last race day Vattenfall Solar Team

Read more

The Solarcars

Het Vattenfall Solar Team doet sinds 2001 met haar zonneauto's mee aan zonneraces wereldwijd. Het team heeft van de 9 deelnames in Australië zeven wereldtitels weten binnen te slepen en twee keer een tweede plek. Ook in Zuid-Afrika doet het Delftse team het goed, van de drie deelnames daar heeft het team er drie weten te winnen. Zie hier met welke auto's het team dat heeft gedaan.

Discover the legacy

Vattenfall Solar Team

Seven times world champion